A celebration of international football and a fight for culture

The European Football Championship is an opportunity for the best teams and players on the continent to take part in a tournament that brings the European nations together.

Just days before the tournament is due to start Ukrainian protesters blanketed the streets of Kiev, angry at their government’s proposed change of the official language of their country from Ukrainian to Russian.

Protesters are fighting to save their mother tongue from becoming extinct.

The Ukrainian people should be able to keep their own language because the death of their language could mean the death of their histories, stories, arts culture and roots.

The finalists: A diverse range of language… and football skills

From English to French, German to Greek, Italian to Portuguese and Russian to Spanish, a diverse range of languages are circulating the tournament which only reinforces the support I give to keeping the Ukrainian language the official language of its country.

The 16 participating finalists:

  1. Croatia
  2. Czech Republic
  3. Denmark
  4. England
  5. France
  6. Germany
  7. Greece
  8. Italy
  9. Netherlands
  10. Poland
  11. Portugal
  12. Republic of Ireland
  13. Russia
  14. Spain
  15. Sweden
  16. Ukraine

The final tournament will take place between the 8th June and the 1st July. We can only hope that people who are attending and supporting the games truly have a safe, enjoyable, fun experience.

If you are going, take this opportunity to speak to the opposing team’s fans. Celebrate the football, the languages and the people.